keppra side effects - dealing with the side effects of keppra



KeppraReviews

people have reviewed this drug
3 Stars
Review this Drug

Tips for Good Reviews

SHOW:
4 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/30/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/25/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Keppa (levetiracetam) was the first AED I tried and it was awful. It made me twitch and completely destroyed my appetite and made me quite emotional to the point I had my AED changed. Everyone's experience is different but I definitely didn't have a good experience with this drug and wouldn't recommend it.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/23/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/23/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Hated taking this medication. Made me extremely agitated.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 25 months ago (10/18/2016)

RatedKepprafor Partial SeizuresReport

My Mom was put on it for a year because it was thought she was having seizures. Her seizures were caused by too much Amantidine, Prolia, Macrobid etc.... that caused temporary Renal Failure. When the Amantidine was reduced and the Macrobid and Prolia were taken out if the picture she was doing better. She was still acting strange like being up all night and irritable, depressed etc.... I took her off the Keppra (I don't care what the Doctor thinks ) and noticed a difference for the better. Too much medicine causes too many problems.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 26 months ago (9/25/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Where do I even start. I hate this drug. I have had epilepsy all my life. I am 48 and been on Dilantin all my life except for the last 5 months. Long story kinda short, my Neurologist changed my medication from Dilantin to Keppra after I had a grand mal seizure which I have maybe a few to 5 to 6 times a yr but now I have had to many to count since I have been on Keppra. I was taking 400 mg of Dilantin but now I'm on 2500 mg of Keppra after my Dr. have upped it 4 times now since I have had more seizures since I have been on Keppra, Ok now, I have never been an emotional person but now I am a mess and hate my life since I have been on Keppra. I have memory loss which makes me feel stupid, I cry for no reason at all, I get extremely mad at the stupidest thing and want to hurt the person for making me mad, I sleep a lot and don't want to do a damn thing and even now its hard to type what I want to say because I don't remember what I have already wrote. I have told my Dr. all this but she keeps upping the Keppra saying that we haven't found the right dose yet. I hate this drug and I hate my life right now. I just want to get back to myself and back to work. I haven't been to work since

Report
3 Stars
Posted 26 months ago (9/16/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

I started having grand mal seizures when I was 12 and was originally on Tegratol untill I was 16-17. Turns out that medication made me seize more, so I was switched to 1,000mg of Keppra. It has worked wonders controlling my seizures. When I take it properly/responsibly, I've gone months/years seizure free. I went from having multiple seizures in the span of a few months to seizure free! BUT the infamous "Keppra rage" has and continues to be an issue for me even now as an adult. B6 and vitamin D helps a bit, along with NOT DRINKING, getting enough sleep, and physical activities like yoga/long walks/tai chi/etc. I struggle to maintain a healthy lifestyle and when I don't do something like yoga/meditation to maintain balance, I notice a definate increased struggle in keeping my cool. In a moment I go from already unnecessarily irritated to infuriated. In that moment, I imagine grabbing whoever by the hair and slamming their face into the nearest surface. Obviously I don't act upon such impulses, but I am unnerved that this little medication can make me feel that much rage and that disturbs me. I also notice I struggle with short term memory as well which is frustrating, but I've some

Report
3 Stars
Posted 27 months ago (9/1/2016)

RatedKepprafor SeizuresReport

At 54 I started having tonic-clonic seizures - like fainting. At first my physician prescribed phenytoin (Dilantin) - it worked, but I was zoned out and groggy. After about a year I was switched to levetiracetam (generic Keppra). For about the first year it was pretty good - was able to work with my doctor to find the minimal dosage to resolve my problems (I take one 750mg pill a day - 1/2 of it in AM, 1/2 in PM). This is a low dose overall. Over time, I started developing anger and moodyness issues (google Keppra Rage) and developed ever increasing memory loss issues - particularly short term memory. I've tried B6, B12, D3 - it may help, but it's not enough. My doctor is switching me to lamotrigine (generic Lamictal) - we'll see how that goes. Right now I'm taking both (slowly increasing Lamictal while still on Keppra) and I'm a total bastard at times. I so feel for my spouse... I truly hope that the issues subside after going onto Lamictal only. The plus side, however is that keppra truly does work to prevent seizures - it might just be the only drug for your issue - just work with your doctor to find the right dosage - and be aware of the side effects.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 27 months ago (9/1/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

The generic version of this drug made me literally insane. I would talk about how I wanted to die, lay in bed all day, lash out at loved ones, cry constantly. My neurologist put me on the brand name keppra because he said the binding agents within the generic can exaserbate potential side effects significantly. After switching to the brand name, all of those emotional problems diminished. I have had brand name medically necessary on my precriptions ever since. Twice I tried going back to the generic version of this drug and got the same insane personality back again both times. Looking back, I think perhaps the brand name may have made me more tired and reckless at times... or not, its tough to say because I've been on it so long. I do know that if brand name Keppra has given me any side effects that they're not nearly as bad as the side effects from the generic version. While some people obviously might have negative reactions to both versions of this medication, I think it's extremely important for people to know that the emotional issues and negative, depressive, and/or suicidal thoughts CAN be due to the fact that you need to try the brand name if you are currently taking the g

Report
1 Stars
Posted 29 months ago (7/2/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

taking keppra is to live while you are dead. it sucks the life out of you, making you wish a seizure had killed you before you got put on this drug. it makes you depressed, suicidal, forgetful, and out of touch with your own body and mind in general. i begged my neurologist to take me off this drug for months, and he finally agreed yesterday. i do not have epilepsy, i just had a withdrawal seizure from abruptly stopping a psychiatric medication. i would not wish this experience on my worst enemy.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 30 months ago (5/12/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Keppra was awful. It was the first drug I took when I was diagnosed with epilepsy, and it completely destroyed my mental health. The side effects were awful. These mostly include severe anxiety and depression. Almost immediately after taking this drug, I felt as though I never wanted to get out of bed. I began panicking and getting overwhelmed by far-fetched thoughts and stresses in life. I had dreams where I committed suicide, my new-onset stress and anxiety held me back from going out and socializing, and made me contemplate my own life. Being an otherwise mentally healthy person, I was extremely concerned by these symptoms that I had no control over, and knew it had to be a side effect of the drug. I told my neurologist and I immediately changed to 150mg of LamoTriGine (Lamictal), which works wonders. Prevents my epileptic seizures and is also used as a mood stabilizer so I'm sure that's why mental side-effects don't exist with the new drug. Avoid Keppra. Unless all other drugs fail to prevent your seizures.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 31 months ago (5/3/2016)

RatedKepprafor SeizuresReport

just started on them for sezuires just sleepy thats it fantastic medication feel dead chilled out

Report
5 Stars
Posted 31 months ago (4/21/2016)

RatedKepprafor SeizuresReport

I think the dosage is important with this drug. I began taking 1 pill twice a day then switched over to two pills once a day. It made a huge difference. My side effects cut in half (no more tingly chills/ goosebumps all over my legs and not so ditsy) and I felt much more confident. I still experience the lethargic feelings. Do I exist? What if this person had never met, would I still exist? I would but not to them.... These thoughts would flash through my mind so fast and intensely that I wasn't entirely aware of what was happening because as soon as it ended I couldn't remember. Like waking from a dream and having it at the tip of your mind but the more you wake up the more it fades. It happened enough times that I started remembering what the thoughts were. Weird. Overall the drug stopped my seizures. I just wouldn't recommend it to anyone who's suicidal because the thought of death (not the act of killing one self) but the thought of "what if I die?" enters my mind frequently now. I don't struggle with those types of problem so it's more of a curious thing for me and at the very least, inspired me to write up a will. Just in case.

Report
5 Stars
Posted 32 months ago (3/19/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

I've been on this medication for 5 months now and all I have to say is.. It's life changing. This med has given me confidence. I have uncontrollable body movements and was nervous of dropping stuff all the time. Ever since I started, I feel more relaxed and easy going. Beginning side effects was hard but pushing threw for the sake of embarrassment was worth following regiment. I feel normal and it's a big relieve not having to worry about my uncontrollable body jerks. It's only 500mg daily but my provider stated if that's what's working, "just stick with".

Report
3 Stars
Posted 32 months ago (3/17/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

havent had a seizure since ive been on it almost 8 years now but have had terrible weight gain! I take 3000mg a day.1500 in morning and 1500 at bedtime.Would love to find out how to loose weight while on this drug! It says it doesnt cause weight gain but i have spoken to several people that have gained weight since being on it.

Report
1 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (1/17/2016)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

Every company that makes this medicine should be sued. It has such mixed results. For me personally, it nearly cost me my life. The American government sucks to even have statutes against suing manufacturers when it can take years for a patient to realize that all their issues were caused by the drug, including seizures. For a drug that is intended to control seizures to actually cause them.....should be illegal to produce it. Doctors get paid for prescribing keppra.....all the reason for them to prescribe, regardless of how it affects the patient. America ain't so great! !

Report
1 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (1/17/2016)

RatedKepprafor SeizuresReport

I would like to know how long keppra takes to work ??? I take the generic form levetiractam twice daily at 500 milligrams ..went off of dilatin because of side effects..I've been taking it for a month..no seizure control whatsoever..no side effects ..nothing . feels like eating candy..does nothing..lost job now due to seizures that was supposed to be controlled by useless medicine..dilatin was wonderful, had no seizures whatsoever as and switched to keppra..only had 9 seizures in past week..two hospitalizations..

Report
5 Stars
Posted 34 months ago (1/12/2016)

RatedKepprafor SeizuresReport

I think Keppra is great.I had to take dilantin for many years until my doctor started me on this..Very few side effects and since I have been taking it my seizures have gone from 1 every 2 years or so to 1 every 5 years.Its pretty expensive but thats what insurance is for.

Report
4 Stars
Posted 35 months ago (12/28/2015)

RatedKepprafor SeizuresReport

I've had 6 grand mal seizures total and around 1500 absence seizures this drug made my grand mal ones nearly stop I've had 2 since I've been on it and I occasionally have small ones when stressed. The side effects are awful, I feel bipolar now and so angry I either am too emotional or emotionless. I use to be a people person and now I don't like to talk to people as much. It makes me tired all of the time. Great treatment of you can deal with side effects I'm still taking it currently and I'm 19.

Report
3 Stars
Posted 36 months ago (11/17/2015)

RatedKepprafor EpilepsyReport

4 months ago I was put on keppra after my second trip to the ER for extreme seizures that resulted in facial scars and sprains (one time I fell down three flights of stairs. Thank God as I rolled I didn't break anything and somehow literally landed on my feet. My neurologist believes I have a late onset of a kind of epilepsy that develops in teens. I'm in my mid twenties. The first two-three weeks on Keppra, I had no seizures, but never felt like myself. I felt like I didn't really care about anything. I wondered who would care if I died. Etc. it was an awful place. The side effects have gotten better, but I still feel the lethargic side effects others have mentioned. I also seem to be less social. Thankfully my family has been really supportive in helping me cope with this. I learned a lesson the hard way today. DONT MISS A DOSE ESPECIALLY TWO IN A ROW. All my epileptic symptoms started coming back, first mental seizures, then stuttering, by the time I got to my hotel to take the pill I was having seizures over my entire body. Thankfully the Keppra kicked in and put me to sleep but I do feel much more stable now. I take 750mg a day. Meeting my neurologist next week. I think we

Report

About Drugs A-Z

Drugs A-Z provides drug information from Everyday Health and our partners, as well as ratings from our members, all in one place. Cerner Multum™ provides the data within some of the Basics, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosage tabs. The information within the Reviews and FAQ tabs is proprietary to Everyday Health.

You can browse Drugs A-Z for a specific prescription or over-the-counter drug or look up drugs based on your specific condition. This information is for educational purposes only, and not meant to provide medical advice, treatment, or diagnosis. Remember to always consult your physician or health care provider before starting, stopping, or altering a treatment or health care regimen.

Every effort has been made to ensure that the information provided by on this page is accurate, up-to-date, and complete, but no guarantee is made to that effect. Drug information contained herein may be time sensitive. The information on this page has been compiled for use by healthcare practitioners and consumers in the United States and therefore neither Everyday Health or its licensor warrant that uses outside of the United States are appropriate, unless specifically indicated otherwise. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensors endorse drugs, diagnose patients or recommend therapy. The drug information above is an informational resource designed to assist licensed healthcare practitioners in caring for their patients and/or to serve consumers viewing this service as a supplement to, and not a substitute for, the expertise, skill, knowledge and judgment of healthcare practitioners. The absence of a warning for a given drug or drug combination in no way should be construed to indicate that the drug or combination is safe, effective or appropriate for any given patient. Neither Everyday Health nor its licensor assume any responsibility for any aspect of healthcare administered with the aid of the information provided. The information contained herein is not intended to cover all possible uses, directions, precautions, warnings, drug interactions, allergic reactions, or adverse effects. If you have any questions about the drugs you are taking, check with your doctor, nurse or pharmacist.






Video: Getting off Keppra

Keppra Reviews
Keppra Reviews images

2019 year
2019 year - Keppra Reviews pictures

Keppra Reviews advise
Keppra Reviews recommendations photo

Keppra Reviews pics
Keppra Reviews pictures

Keppra Reviews Keppra Reviews new picture
Keppra Reviews new picture

pics Keppra Reviews
foto Keppra Reviews

Watch Keppra Reviews video
Watch Keppra Reviews video

Communication on this topic: Keppra Reviews, keppra-reviews/
Discussion on this topic: Keppra Reviews, keppra-reviews/ , keppra-reviews/

Related News


Nusinersen
15 Best Egg Combos That Double Your Weight Loss
How to Reserve a FastPass at Walt Disney World
The Best Makeup to Wear with Your Nerd Glasses
Heres a look at Starbucks cups from 2009 to 2019
Multivitamins: Medicine For The Mind
The Nail Colour Youre Going to See Everywhere This Summer
How to Groom a Beard
Whats the Correct Waxing Hair Length
Comfy Accent: DIY Crocheted Oval Clutch
How To Wear A Roll Neck In 5 Stylish Ways



Date: 06.12.2018, 14:55 / Views: 61533